Going Veggie

Vegetarianism is a path I’ve taken twice in my life, both times I failed. The first time I didn’t know what I was doing and it ended after a year, with me being very sick and weak. The second time lasted from 2002-2006 and ended much the same way, in spite of the care of a good doctor and the advice of a nutritionist. I’ve wanted to try it again ever since, though, because spiritually it feels amazing. There’s a genuine sense of peace in enjoying the presence of another creature and knowing that my connection to nature and spirit is stronger for not putting said creature on the food chain. However, I had two small children at the time and when it became clear that I was anemic I felt I had no choice but to start eating meat again, and I did get some of my strength back. The anemia never fully went away, though, and then the questions became ‘what did I do wrong?’ and ‘how can I go about this safely’? I simply can not go back to being barely able to raise myself off of the sofa but I desperately want to live cruelty-free. There has to be a balance somewhere.

A few months ago my doctor had me start taking iron supplements. I think this is what was missing when I was Vegetarian before. I was eating the right things but just wasn’t getting enough iron. Since I’ve been taking the supplements I feel much better. My energy levels are up and I don’t need a power-nap in the afternoon. I had to cut back on the meat, though. Anyone who has ever taken iron supplements knows why. After decreasing the amount of meat in my diet my digestion works a lot better. I haven’t had meat in four days and even after adding another dose of iron during the day to meet the limit my doctor set for me my body feels better and works more efficiently. So, I’m done. No more meat, for physical as well as spiritual reasons. I can’t even begin to describe the emotional relief and spiritual benefit of going back on the meat-wagon. It’s like a weight has been lifted off of me, body and spirit. My husband is less than happy about it but it’s because he’s worried that I’ll get sick again. I don’t think that’s the case, especially knowing now what I wasn’t doing that would have made all the difference. It’s so simple. Take iron. Not just what I was getting in a multivitamin, either. Multivitamins are great, but they don’t offer the amount I need.

I have more information now than I’ve ever had due to the research I’ve been doing for the last few years. I know I’m ready. I’m so happy and excited about this! It just feels like the right thing to do.

One thought on “Going Veggie

Leave a Reply

